top of page

Beginner's Guide to Crochet




Lifelong learning (and in fact, library learning) is not relegated to traditional book learning anymore. With YouTube, Teachable, Tabletwise, Udemy, Coursera, and other course-hosting platforms appearing all over the Internet, it is clear that humans of all ages value learning whether it is to improve their job skills or just for fun.


One of the things I love to teach is crochet. Crochet is a way I relax after a long day while making something beautiful for those I love.


In the midst of the COVID-19 lockdown, I decided to create a course to teach others how to crochet in the hopes that it would ease their stress levels, as well.


Are you new to crochet? My course teaches the basics of horizontal crochet and crochet in the round (as is used for Amigurumi--cute and cuddly toys for kids and adults). You can access my course here, and all you really need is a crochet hook (size H is perfect) and worsted weight yarn (Red Heart is a good option).


The more you practice, the easier crochet will become. The trick is to figure out the best way for your hands to hold the yarn and hook (everybody is different).


In my videos, you have a top-down view of my hands to see where the yarn is going just as you would see it in your own. Just please note that this is designed for right-handed crocheters.


Once you get comfortable, you can use the included patterns to learn how to follow patterns made of the stitches you've just learned and feel a great sense of accomplishment finishing your very own crochet project!





If you're already comfortable with crochet and want to make baby blankets for friends and family, check out my Ravelry site for patterns I have created.


What are your favorite crochet resources? I'd love to know in the comments below!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page