top of page

Colorado Author Feature: Darby Karchut

Updated: Jan 12, 2021

I was lucky enough to grow up in Colorado. After living elsewhere for three years, I recognized just how delightful living in Colorado really is, and I couldn’t wait to come back. That’s one of the reasons I am featuring Colorado authors in my blog; there is just something extra special about them!


It is not easy to find great Colorado authors, but after meeting one through Reedsy, an Indie book review site, I was lucky enough to be connected through him to Darby Karchut.


I had the pleasure of reading Del Toro Moon, the first in a series of the same title. Placed in Huerfano, Colorado, the blend of Hispanic cowboy culture and the Wild West felt like what the heart of Colorado really is. Excitement, magic, and love permeate the story and keep readers engaged from beginning to end. It is especially enjoyable for horse-loving bookworms! You can read my full review here, if you wish.




Matt’s story continues in The Red Casket, which I am looking forward to reading, as well!





At the end of Del Toro Moon, Darby includes a short, written interview and a list of discussion questions to help readers better engage with her story. Additions like this help connect readers with the real authors who create enjoyable books such as this one.


This was not Darby’s first story. She has written several other books including a series for middle grade readers called Finn Finnegan:




And a series for young adult readers, the Griffin Series, that has been optioned for film!





My “to read” list has grown since discovering Darby’s work, and I’m looking forward to reading more. I am delighted to recommend her work to all who enjoy action-packed stories for young readers.




Do you know a great Colorado author who deserves to be featured on my blog? Send me a message and let me know!




27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page