top of page

Irish Music and Dance



Learning Irish music and dance is another exciting way to continue learning beyond the classroom--no matter how old you are!


When I was about twelve years old, I saw Riverdance for the first time. After the show finished, I told my parents "I'm going to do that one day," and I signed up for lessons shortly thereafter.


Though I was "old" to start Irish dancing (most professional dancers started at age 3 or 4), my passion and drive for the sport took me to competitions around the United States and ultimately, in 2009, to a professional touring company called Celtic Legends. My dream had come true!



For the next couple of years, I toured with both Celtic Legends and Celtic Fire, traveling around the United States and Canada. It was an experience that shaped my life and one I'm thrilled to have had the opportunity to do.


In 2011, I sat and passed the TCRG exam (the official Irish dance teaching exam) in Vancouver, Canada. It was one of the hardest things I have ever done, but it was a rewarding next step in my Irish dancing career.


I have taught dancers of all ages in Denver, Colorado and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania from the age of fourteen, sharing my love of this iconic dance style.


Since turning 30, getting married, and starting a family, I have shifted my focus to include Irish music along with dancing. After all, they go hand in hand!


My husband and I participate in an annual Irish music camp for adults called Portal Irish Music Week, which takes place in remote Portal, Arizona every October. We teach dance to camp participants and locals to marry the movements to the music. It is a delightful continuation of our Irish dance roots while learning more about the music, ourselves.


If you can't make it to Portal (or can't wait that long!), you can access my online Irish dance basics courses here. These will give you the fundamentals of Irish dance to feed your own passion, even if there are no classes in your area.


What brought you to Irish music and dance? I'd love to hear more in the comments below!

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page