top of page

Me vs. the Multiverse: Pleased to Meet Me

One of the first books I got to read in 2021 is the first in the Me vs. the Multiverse series entitled Pleased to Meet Me by S.G. Wilson. This story is outside of the realm of what I would have selected for myself when I was a middle grader, but it did make me laugh out loud as an adult and I can easily picture its perfect audience.


Pleased to Meet Me introduces readers to Meade Macon, the primary character in the story. On his Earth, he is nothing special, often turning in lackluster assignments or sitting backstage for the school play. However, when he is invited to a convention filled with different versions of Meade from around the multiverse, he begins to see his existence in a whole new light. Silly, quirky characters dominate the narrative and are made extra special by being nearly identical copies of Meade, himself. Please see my full review here for more.





I wasn’t sure what to make of this book at first, but as I got deeper into the story, I began to see the many layers that make it up...not unlike the multiverse, itself! I especially enjoyed the many references to pop culture and history that change from Earth to Earth, some of them grossing me out and others making me laugh out loud. My favorite character is Motor Me, specifically because of the unusual nature of the world he comes from.




While this is, on the surface, a lighthearted adventure with relatable personalities, the message of the story goes much deeper. Meade isn’t just making friends with other versions of himself; he is learning to love and appreciate the many things that make Meade, Meade. And that is something that will resonate with all readers, regardless of their age.


I hope you’ll check out this story! And if you like it, keep an eye out for book 2, to be released later this year.




Do you know of another story I should feature in my blog? Please contact me here and let me know!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page